THROUGH THE WIDOW OF MY CELL

This is a poem by Dan Hauser who was executed by the state of Florida

Through the window of my cell,
Beyond the fence and razor wire,
stand silent trees and silver pond.
Wild ducks, strange fellows, come forth
And greet me with silent indifference.
They know as I that all there is,
is nothing more than swift reflections.

Through the windows of my eyes
In catacombs of phantom dreams
Stand silent friends and smoky mirror
That greet me in silent indifference.
They know, as I that what we see
Is time and space and many forms
That slowly flow in consciousness.

Through the window of my cell
Spiders wave their silver webs
Silky threads to capture life that ends,
Transforming life to life.
Something must die for life to be,
So life and death are one.

Through the windows of my eyes
People plant their silver lives
A wisp of thought that captures life that ends,
Transforming life to life.
something must die for life to be,
so life and death are one.

Through the window of my cell,
Fence and razor wire rusts
And to the earth returns.
Silent trees dance and cry,
Return and leave the bosom
Of the earth in endless cycle.
Fence and razor wire become green leaves
that fall like Soft tears of joy and sadness.
silver pond becomes a thousand rivers that dance with the sun
In falling leaves of green.
Ducks fly to and fro
Becoming lost in many.
Dancing in a thousand green rivers
That flow skyward.

Through the windows of my eyes
Beyond the mind of knowing _
dwell no silent friend nor smoky mirror,
No greetings in silent indifference
No they that know, no I that sees,
No silver lives, no wisp of thought,
No ending life to capture,
No thing to die, no life to be,
No life or death to become one,
through the window of my eyes.

This entry was posted in Voices. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

