DAY 9

Miles Traveled: 244
Location: Deming, New Mexico

The day started with a wake-up call from Mr. Sun streaming through the front door of my tent. In big sky county the sun does not appear with increasingly lighter shades of gray but comes bursting on the scene as soon as it breaks over the distant hill tops. Then I remembered that I had crawled into my sleeping bag at zero dark thirty because it was just too cold. A wonderful feeling after a week of high humidity in the South East.

No sooner than I gave my thanks to the powers to be than the morning clean-up detail came tromping through the camp site with cackling and an occasional crow. It seems as if the owner of the camp ground has a dozen chickens and couple of roosters that clean-up after messy campers. This detail is reinforced by a squadron of doves that cooed through the morning.

Breaking Camp is never a simple or quick chore. There is equipment to check and pack. There are motorcycles to check and load. Of course, all the Irish Pennants have to be secured as getting caught in a spoke could create instant chaos at highway speeds that would only end up as road kill.

Once we got under way, a marvelous vista opened up to my right. It was a big patch of green farm land down in some valley. It was the first sign of life that I had seen in forever. Once we crossed into New Mexico, I was told that this was some of the richest farming land in the Southwest but the climate had shifted and now there were periods of intense drought.

As we moved west, I encountered permanent check points on I-10 run by the boarder patrol. These were not mobile check points but permanent structures with drug dogs. It took us at least 30 minutes creeping at a snails pace to finally get to the point where a sniffer dog and agents could check us. This is something I never thought I would see much less experience in my life within the USA. I expect this at the borders but not in the interior of the country.

This entry was posted in On the Road, The Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DAY 9

  1. Nancy Morris says:

    Boarder patrol within the country?? Sounds more like Texas than New Mexico.
    Your descriiption of the duststorm a few days back brought back memories of dust storms during childhood when my twin brothers and I chased after inner-tubes we’d start rolling in those winds. Occassionally the tumbleweeds would roll through as well. What fun!! Peace. Nancy

  2. David Wright says:

    ” This is something I never thought I would see much less experience in my life within the USA. I expect this at the borders but not in the interior of the country. ”

    There is a lot of money to be made by attempting to stop/control drug allocation, more than actually selling it in many cases.

Leave a Reply

