Florida version of crime and punishment

Growing up in the 1950s, my vision of law and order was Dragnet. This was a vision I held till I retired as a professional soldier in 1985. Whereas Florida has become my home since 1961, I did not live here till my retirement. That is when I started following a host of issues of which crime and punishment climbed to the top of the list.

Having lived and worked in a lot of third world countries, I always took pride in the fact American jurisprudence was about justice. The truth is that American justice is not about ‘protect and serve’ but is a patchwork quilt of laws that arise out of political opportunism designed to cater to a particular interest group that will reward the legislatures that write them with the political gold of contributions and endorsements during elections.

Nowhere have I seen a clearer example of this political opportunism than in Widow refuses to attend bill signing ceremony for new law named after her husband.

The payoff in Florida has been a higher incarceration ratio than the US as a whole and the US has a higher incarceration ratio than any country in the world. You would think it would make Florida a safer place to live but in reality for over 40 consecutive years Florida has had a higher violent crime rate than the nation as a whole and the nation has had a higher violent crime rate that any country on this planet.

This entry was posted in Corruption, Politics, The Problem. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Florida version of crime and punishment

  1. Much thanks says:

    Merely wished to state I am just delighted I stumbled upon your webpage!

Leave a Reply

