Bedding for the road

One of my top priorities in getting ready for the run from Key West, Florida to Deadhorse, Alaska next summer is finding sleeping equipment for camping in temperatures that average about 50 degrees in the day. That means that nights can get very cold. I figure it will take 3 weeks to run across northern Canada and Alaska and back at those temperatures.

Searched the internet and found the army had come up with:

GORETEX, 4 PIECE, MODULAR, SLEEPING SYSTEM

  • A GREEN PATROL BAG, RATED TO 30 DEGREES F
  • A BLACK INTERMEDIATE BAG, RATED TO -10 DEGREES F,
  • GORETEX BIVY COVER. WATERPROOF, BREATHABLE. NON-FLAMMABLE
  • COMPRESSION STUFF SACK. IT IS BLACK, NYLON COATED, WATER RESISTANT, CYLINDER SHAPE

Now, I was impressed and found a new one on the internet for $110.  Could not help but open it as soon as it arrived and was again impressed. As much as anything that impressed me was that it all went down to a small bag not all that much bigger than the one I lived in last summer and there were more than a couple of nights in Idaho, Montana and South Dakota that I had to go into my long johns to stay warm.

 Then my mind flashed back to the deployment I made from Okinawa to Vietnam with the 3rd Marine Division. We deployed with blanket rolls that were shelter half’s and a woolen blanket. Talk about feeling like a dinosaur. What you are looking at is a world war II blanket roll and M-1 bayonet. We deployed with M-14’s in 1965. That was a long time ago. As good as the new bed rolls are, no way am I giving up my tent. It all goes with me on the motor cycle.

For sure, I can see days it will be had getting out of a warm bag to face a cold day on the ride.

This entry was posted in On the Road and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

