Caught Red-Handed, Aaron Swartz Was Prepping For Key Federal Court Evidence Hearing

It is nothing less than amazing how in a state court you can be charged one way and then go to federal court and the one act will levy half a dozen charges and then receive time for each of the charges even though they all stem from the one act.

‘…Swartz was originally named in a state District Court criminal complaint charging him with breaking and entering, a felony. However, when federal prosecutors took over the matter, he was indicted on a slew of counts, including wire fraud, computer fraud, and unlawfully obtaining information from a protected computer….’

It reminds me of a speeding ticket I got over ten years ago when the cop told me that I was lucky I was not getting two citations. I ask what did he mean. He said I could be charged for speeding and then violating a traffic sign that had the posted speed limit. I asked if that was not double jeopardy and he suggested I could go to court and pay court costs and etc to find out.
Caught Red-Handed, Aaron Swartz Was Prepping For Key Federal Court Evidence Hearing

This entry was posted in Politics, The Problem. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

